Harrison County, Ohio

Harrison County Ohio Sheriff's Office

Sheriff 1.jpg

Mission Statement:

The mission statement of the Harrison County Sheriff’s Office is to provide the most reasonable and professional law enforcement in time of crisis within the prescribed ethical, budgetary, and constitutional constraints. The Harrison County Sheriff’s Office recognizes that no law enforcement agency can operate at its maximum potential without supportive input from the citizens it serves. The agency actively solicits and encourages the cooperation of all citizens to reduce and limit the opportunities for crime and to assist in bringing to justice those that break the law. The members of the Sheriff’s Office will be held to a high standard of conduct. The members of the Office will instill Honesty, Courage and Integrity to the residents of Harrison County.

Sincerely, Sheriff Ronald J. Myers

History of the Ohio Sheriff

The Sheriffs of America have played a significant role in the history of our Nation, and the Sheriffs of Ohio are no exception to this heritage. A brief study of the history of Ohio reveals that Ohio Sheriffs have contributed greatly to the development of the Buckeye State. Until Ohio achieved statehood in 1803, the position of Sheriff was filled through appointments made at the pleasure of the Colonial Governor. The first Sheriff on the record in Ohio was Colonel Ebenezer Sproat. At the time he was appointed in 1788, Colonel Sproat's jurisdiction covered all of Washington County. This enormous area of land included all of eastern Ohio from the Ohio River to Lake Erie. After statehood became a reality, only three public offices in Ohio were filled through the electoral process system. The position of Sheriff was one of them. Through this new system, William Skinner became the first elected Sheriff in the Buckeye State. Since the early 1800's, Ohio Sheriffs have been elected on the county level by the people they serve. By virtue of this process, this office has become the oldest law enforcement position in the United States. It is also the only remaining law enforcement office which is filled through the election method. The term of office for County Sheriffs in Ohio is four years. In each of the 88 counties of Ohio, the Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer. His primary duties are to provide common pleas court services and corrections on a countywide basis, and full police protection to the unincorporated areas of the county. However, he also maintains full police jurisdiction in all municipalities, townships, and villages. In an effort to become consistent on a statewide level, Ohio Sheriffs and Deputies wear a standardized uniform, and all patrol vehicles are marked in the same manner. Within Ohio, Sheriff's Offices have probably one of the most extensive sets of responsibilities to those they serve. By statute they must provide the following:

Line Law Enforcement

Court Security and Service of Papers

Jail Operations

Extradition Process

Transportation of Prisoners

Resource: www.buckeyesheriffs.org

History of the Harrison County Sheriff's Office

The Harrison County Sheriff's Office was formed in the year 1814 and at that time the first sheriff was appointed. The first Sheriff's Office was built in the 1820's, and in 1895 that building had burnt down. At that time the officials of Harrison County had constructed a new Sheriff's Office. (pictured below)

img alt="2nd Office.jpg" src="http://www.harrisoncountyohio.org/?action=media.media.read&id=16172&size=large" />
Photo Courtesy of: Scott Pendleton, Harrison County Historical Society

In the early 1900's The officials of Harrison County had constructed another building for the Sheriff's Office which stands today and is still known as the Harrison County Sheriff's Office. (pictured below)

3rd Office.jpg
Photo Courtesy of: Scott Pendleton, Harrison County Historical Society

HCSO 1930

Photo Courtesy of: Marilyn Monzula which is an actual postcard that she had received. Believed to be from the 1930's

With the help of employees at the Sheriff's Office along with former Sheriff Richard Rensi we have compiled a list of the past Sheriff's that have served the citizens of Harrison County since 1814. The list is as follows:

1814 – 1816 Elescondo Henderson
1816 – 1817 James Boswell
1817 – 1821 John Stokes
1821 – 1824 Rezin Arnold
1824 – 1824 Baruch Dickerson
1824 – 1826 John S. Lacey
1826 – 1832 Matthew McCoy
1832 – 1835 James McNutt
1836 – 1839 William Mulligan
1840 – 1842 William Cady
1842 – 1846 William Barrett
1846 – 1848 John McCormick
1848 – 1853 David Hilbert
1853 – 1855 James Boyd
1855 – 1858 Alexander Barger
1858 – 1862 Edwin S. Woodborne
1862 – 1866 Stephen R. McGee
1866 - 1870 John E. McPeck
1870 – 1872 James Moore
1872 – 1876 Samuel S. Hamill
1876 – 1878 Elisha Hargrave
1878 – 1880 Emanuel Howard

1880 – 1886 James C. Carver
1886 – 1888 Jefferson C. Glover
1888 – 1892 Albert Quigley
1892 – 1896 David P. Host
1896 – 1900 Samuel B. Moore
1900 – 1904 Davis Garvin
1904 – 1909 Lafayette Martin
1909 – 1913 O. A. Craigo
1913 – 1917 T. A. Boyd
1917 – 1921 J. M. Stevenson
1921 – 1925 O. K. Martin
1925 – 1929 John F. Quigley
1929 - 1933 Maurice Wooster
1933 – 1937 Archer F. Hedges
1937 – 1945 J. Elmo Mattern
1945 – 1953 Donald G. Tope
1953 – 1958 Odis K. Yoho
1958 – 1959 Edna Yoho
1959 – 1973 Harry Bailey
1973 – 1996 Richard Rensi
1997 – 2008 Mark J. Miller
2008 – 20__ Ronald J. Myers